Lloyd Carr: Hall of Fame Bound

Posted on Posted in Michigan Football

Lloyd Carr, Michigan’s legendary head football coach, is elected in to the College Football Hall of Fame today in the class of 2012.

Boasting a record of 122-40 and 19-8 against top-ten ranked opponents, he was the fourth coach in Michigan history to coach 100 games for the Wolverines. Joining the ranks of Yost, Oosterbaan, and Schembechler.

Carr was also the third coach in Michigan history to defeat Ohio State in his first three years as head coach. Yost and and Crisler were the only other coaches to do so.

Carr was a man of legend during his tenure at Michigan. He coached the kids in maize and blue to incredible victories and utter defeats. But through and through, Carr was a Michigan Man. He epitomizes the Michigan spirit and brought glory back to Ann Arbor in 1997 when his team won the National Championship. Carr coached the famous names we see playing every Sunday and who dominated on Saturday’s, where legends are born.

Here is just some of the national awards players under Carr won:

  • Heisman Trophy: Charles Woodson (1997)
  • Walter Camp Award: Charles Woodson (1997)
  • Chuck Bednarik Award: Charles Woodson (1997)
  • Bronko Nagurski Trophy: Charles Woodson (1997)
  • Jim Thorpe Award: Charles Woodson (1997)
  • Doak Walker Award: Chris Perry (2003)
  • Dave Rimington Trophy: David Baas (2004)
  • Fred Biletnikoff Award: Braylon Edwards (2004)
  • Lombardi Award: LaMarr Woodley (2006)
  • Ted Hendricks Award: LaMarr Woodley (2006)

In short, it was only a matter of time until Carr found his place amongst the greatest names in college football history, just as Carr will forever be remembered in Michigan lore.

Yost, Crisler, Schembechler, Carr. It just fits.

Derek Devine
Institutional voice of Alma College during the day, Michigan fanatic at night. Taking TBHR to the next level one post at a time.